No, messages cannot be unsent or removed from the recipient's inbox. They will also receive the message as an email if they are set up to receive email notifications.
To add an attachment, simply click the + Attach Files button and click Reply. You may send multiple attachments at a time. Image files will also display a preview within the conversation.
To archive a conversation, go to your Messages page and click the 'wheel' icon next to the message and select Archive. This will hide the conversation from your main messages view. If the same person sends you a message later, the archived message will reappear with the new message added to it.
To pop out a conversation into a chat, click the Chat icon just above where you enter a message in the top right corner.
You will also enter that chat view when selecting a message from the the Message notification drop-down from the top of the page.
To report a message:
To send a private message:
To start a new conversation, select the Envelope icon within the bid area on the project's view page.
To view an archived conversation:
Chat and messaging are threaded together - When you open a conversation you will see all your messages along with your entire chat history. If you send a chat message to someone, it will be logged within your Messages for your reference later.
When you message someone, the message will be delivered to their Messages page and they will receive a notification.
If the message is sent to a Freelancer, the message will also appear as a chat to the Freelancer.
To view your messages, hover over the Dashboard menu at the top of the page and select My Messages. From there, you can read and send messages.
Employers can send a private message to any Freelancer who has bid on their project.
Freelancers can send a private message to any Employer whose project they have bid on, until the project is awarded, at which point only the winning Freelancer will be able to continue messaging the Employer.