Build a Wordpress Website for Movie Reviews

  • Status: Closed
  • Prize: $300
  • Entries Received: 53
  • Winner: iautomate

Contest Brief

I'm looking to build a world press enabled website to showcase my movie reviews done on Twitter. Creativity is a must! A detailed contest brief is attached along with a wire frame and site map.

NOTE: THE CONTEST IS FOR A FULLY BUILT WEBSITE, NOT FOR A WORDPRESS THEME OR A PROPOSAL.

Recommended Skills

Public Clarification Board

  • iautomate
    iautomate
    • 2 years ago

    echobravo , awesome job dude ,
    these are all ur designs which u submitted for the contests
    http://www.freelancer.com/contest/Build-a-Wordpress-Website-for-Movie-Reviews-27922-by-echobravo-3720098.html
    i never saw a red header in ur designs and neither that gif for the logo , lol
    now ur replicating my header design , very nice , why not copy my header image stright away and use it in ur site .

    This was ur site http://saoirsegirl.com/
    and now it has a red header with logo in center like me

    • 2 years ago
    1. echobravo
      echobravo
      • 2 years ago

      Hi iautomate... I can't tell if you are being sarcastic or not ... I did submit allot of designs... I withdrew a bunch too.. The first one was red and blue and Dave said he didn't like red or blue so I was surprised that he liked the red logo... I thought I would keep trying especially since you submitted after the contest was closed! My Logo doesn't look anything like yours, just the red background...

      • 2 years ago
    2. echobravo
      echobravo
      • 2 years ago

      I resubmitted all of my withdrawals for you to look at, Good Luck with your submission.

      • 2 years ago
  • Spycraft69
    Spycraft69
    Contest Holder
    • 2 years ago

    Thanks for all of your hard work. I'll pick a winner in the next few days...

    • 2 years ago
  • echobravo
    echobravo
    • 2 years ago

    by that I mean the diffuculty of maintanence and how much you are going to have to deal with code and changing and updating the elements on the site.

    • 2 years ago
    1. thumperca
      thumperca
      • 2 years ago

      Hi Dave,
      In the comments above, I've learned that you need the complete WordPress website working before selecting a winner.
      In the most of the contests on WordPress, if not all, the contest holder selects a design and then the winner converts that design to WordPress and submit files. Next, the contest holder review the files and can ask for revision or close the contest and award the winning amount to the winner if he/she is satisfied with the work.
      Please let me know if you need to see the complete working website before selecting the winner. Then I should better get started too on developing the complete website.
      Thanks

      • 2 years ago
    2. echobravo
      echobravo
      • 2 years ago

      I got it working! I have my recent posts content feeding to the home page with the poster images playing video!

      • 2 years ago
  • iautomate
    iautomate
    • 2 years ago

    i think there is already a lot of clutter on this page , so reposting my header variation with logo changes

    http://s8.postimg.org/3uypptlad/conmcept_9.jpg

    • 2 years ago
  • echobravo
    echobravo
    • 2 years ago

    Also I can tell by the design of iautomates submission that the backend is going to be allot more work than my backend.

    • 2 years ago
    1. echobravo
      echobravo
      • 2 years ago

      For your centre column - please explain how if you upload an image into the image library and then set it as a featured image or add media with the add media button that it will result in the design you have depicted in your submission. He will add media or set as featured image and he will automatically get four poster images in the centre column linked to a lightbox that will play a youtube video?? Really?! Pleeese explain this to me I would love to learn how to do this, You are amazing, magical even, if you know how to do this! Please tell me, I'm not kidding.

      • 2 years ago
    2. echobravo
      echobravo
      • 2 years ago

      Also go to http://saoirsegirl.com/ my site is already up - so I might know a little about wordpress.

      • 2 years ago
  • echobravo
    echobravo
    • 2 years ago

    also iautomates design has 4 columns not 3

    • 2 years ago
  • echobravo
    echobravo
    • 2 years ago

    If you had asked for a footer that included widgets or a section for this weeks releases I would have incorporated both.

    • 2 years ago
  • echobravo
    echobravo
    • 2 years ago

    Dave please provide feed back on my design - I can duplicate the structure of anything you want however I am following the wireframe you provided - remember that wireframe - and the blown up tweet boxes - ?? - I am not sure how you got from these requests to liking a design that does not meet these requests.

    • 2 years ago
  • echobravo
    echobravo
    • 2 years ago

    I thought the contest was closed - is the contest still on outside of wordpress because I would LOVE to keep making the desired changes after recieving my last star rating???!!!

    • 2 years ago
  • iautomate
    iautomate
    • 2 years ago

    http://s8.postimg.org/3uypptlad/conmcept_9.jpg

    the variation u want for logo

    • 2 years ago
  • echobravo
    echobravo
    • 2 years ago

    I added more video trailers to the header on the site - check it out

    • 2 years ago
  • iautomate
    iautomate
    • 2 years ago

    I am unable to add my last variations

    have changed the way ur profile will display on twitter feeds .

    please check this link
    http://s22.postimg.org/mb7ce178x/concept_8.jpg

    • 2 years ago
  • iautomate
    iautomate
    • 2 years ago

    wait for my entried , will be posting my color variations soon

    • 2 years ago
    1. thumperca
      thumperca
      • 2 years ago

      and please wait for my entry too..

      • 2 years ago
  • iffal
    iffal
    • 2 years ago

    Dear Spycraft69, The concept of running trailer at background is not feasible. If anybody say so, then that person doesn't know about web development. See as the video will be fetched from youtube or from any similar site, therefore fetching the video is time consuming and your website will be too heavy and will take time to open and also all of your functionality will take time to load and hence it needs large bandwidth to open the site and people using normal bandwidth cannot access your website or they have to wait long.

    • 2 years ago
    1. iffal
      iffal
      • 2 years ago

      The concept you talked about is genuine then also when a process starts, to kill that process or to shift to another page will take time as compared to a normal approach. Kindly check time of loading of any adobe header page and a normal well designed webpage. You are talking about your end but at server end all processes starts and then get killed before starting new process. Take example of datacard it is giving high speed and then suddenly bandwidth reduces and movie process have started, when user will try to jump to any other page then the processes will be killed at server level first and then new process will come to live. Check youtube or any other site, once video starts if you press back button it takes time to return back to the page. Therefore according to me the concept is not feasible.

      • 2 years ago
    2. thumperca
      thumperca
      • 2 years ago

      Hi IFFAL,
      I definitely understand what you are saying and I also agree with you. The video I used was a 28-sec video sizing 1.5MB. For production, I was going to reduce it to just 5 sec while maintaining the seamless motion. In this case, the size would drop to near 200 KB i.e. average size of an image on the internet. But for HD videos or full length trailers, this approach is not valid and I think you are also saying the same.
      Cheers

      • 2 years ago
  • iautomate
    iautomate
    • 2 years ago

    any specific color preference mate , will work on what you love to see

    • 2 years ago
  • iffal
    iffal
    • 2 years ago

    Kindly wait for our final entries!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • 2 years ago
  • SisterCode
    SisterCode
    • 2 years ago

    I do not see the photos you provide for the movies? I opened both files and there are not any images.

    • 2 years ago
    1. Spycraft69
      Spycraft69
      Contest Holder
      • 2 years ago

      Just pick a few photos. Pick Pacific Rim, Superman, and The Hobbit. And actually they should be movie trailers.

      • 2 years ago
  • iautomate
    iautomate
    • 2 years ago

    i am working on some concepts , please wait for my entry before you award someone

    • 2 years ago
    1. Spycraft69
      Spycraft69
      Contest Holder
      • 2 years ago

      hahaha. ok

      • 2 years ago
  • Spycraft69
    Spycraft69
    Contest Holder
    • 2 years ago

    Guys don't forget the "Blerds" rating system. I want to see that incorporated within the "anticipated movies" section. If you need more info, please refer to the contest brief.

    • 2 years ago
  • SisterCode
    SisterCode
    • 2 years ago

    Thanks a lot for waiting till the deadline. All my hours into this are a for nothing.

    • 2 years ago
    1. Spycraft69
      Spycraft69
      Contest Holder
      • 2 years ago

      Closing the contest early was a mistake. The contest is back open!

      • 2 years ago
  • thumperca
    thumperca
    • 2 years ago

    You create a contest then you should have patience to wait till the deadline, because good designs always appear at the end.
    I created a highly-professional and modern design, but I didn't submit it because this contest was not sealed and few folks do copy each other's designs. And I must say now that the design you selected is far beyond a professional design.

    • 2 years ago
    1. Spycraft69
      Spycraft69
      Contest Holder
      • 2 years ago

      Closing the contest early was a mistake. The contest is back open!

      • 2 years ago
  • celestialmonkey
    celestialmonkey
    • 2 years ago

    Design only or it includes coding?

    • 2 years ago
    1. Spycraft69
      Spycraft69
      Contest Holder
      • 2 years ago

      Yes it includes coding.

      • 2 years ago
  • Spycraft69
    Spycraft69
    Contest Holder
    • 2 years ago

    Iffal, next time I will do a closed contest to prevent competitive entries

    • 2 years ago
  • Spycraft69
    Spycraft69
    Contest Holder
    • 2 years ago

    Guys this contest is still open for business. Sorry buy I accidentally closed this contest early. Hoping to still find the best idea.

    • 2 years ago
  • iffal
    iffal
    • 2 years ago

    Spycraft69 you can see there are people those who only commit but doesn't work. And there are people those who wait for other's entries just to steal their ideas as they themselves doesn't have the capabilities to create something of their own and just make fake commitments. As you can see below cited comments one of the competitor didn't go through your text document and even didn't understand you requirement and is looking for pics by you then how can she develop your application. And for other competitor the only requirement was to build a jpg/png/bmp file i.e. through psd, and if the competitor took so long time just to create a preview then how come they work on future prospect. These are no man of words and also these people don't allow other to work just by negative motivation. If the competitor is waiting for a deadline that means he/she is waiting to steal ideas from other creativity. And sorry to admit Mr. Spcraft69 that you fell for these fake people.

    • 2 years ago
    1. thumperca
      thumperca
      • 2 years ago

      Hi iffal,
      I apologize for any offense. There is no doubt that you've worked hard on this project and modified the submission whenever the contest holder said you to do so. My whole point of message was that the contest holder should have waited till the deadline before selecting a winner.
      "this contest was not sealed and few folks do copy each other's designs" - by this sentence, I didn't mean any bad-word for you. But this has happened to me many time in the past and freelancer's that participate in contest know that this happens a lot of times. Moreover, I was being cautious for not submitting the design in timely fashion. Web development is a hard profession and it take hours to develop a unique design.
      Again, my message was only to imply that the contest holder shall wait till the deadline.

      • 2 years ago
  • iffal
    iffal
    • 2 years ago

    Talk about the rejected one, atleast they tried, no loose and fake comments, i.e. positve attitude and positive approach, atleast willingness to work not just fake commitments.

    • 2 years ago
  • SisterCode
    SisterCode
    • 2 years ago

    That is what you Chose???????????????? I thought you wanted professional and creative and not a copy?

    • 2 years ago
  • SisterCode
    SisterCode
    • 2 years ago

    I am working on my entry!

    • 2 years ago
  • Spycraft69
    Spycraft69
    Contest Holder
    • 2 years ago

    Where are all my entries???

    • 2 years ago
  • riopratama
    riopratama
    • 2 years ago

    with code or just design ?

    • 2 years ago
    1. Spycraft69
      Spycraft69
      Contest Holder
      • 2 years ago

      I want a complete website.

      • 2 years ago
  • hiren0017
    hiren0017
    • 2 years ago

    Hello sir,I read your Project Requirement and ready to work with you.I can start work immediately with great skill and will satisfiy you.so accept my bid.

    • 2 years ago
    1. shakeebgenii
      shakeebgenii
      • 2 years ago

      Do you mind looking at our portfolio.

      http://themeforest.net/user/SpyroPress/portfolio

      • 2 years ago
    2. farmanahmed2007
      farmanahmed2007
      • 2 years ago

      http://themeforest.net/item/powermag-the-most-muscular-magazinereviews-theme/full_screen_preview/4740939
      http://themeforest.net/item/zine-modern-responsive-review-theme/full_screen_preview/2399603

      • 2 years ago
  • akhwandk
    akhwandk
    • 2 years ago

    i dont understand to u need a website or a wordpress theme

    • 2 years ago

Show more comments

How to get started with contests

  • Post your contest

    Post Your Contest Quick and easy

  • Get tons of entries

    Get Tons of Entries From around the world

  • Award the best entry

    Award the best entry Download the files - Easy!

Post a Contest Now or Join us Today!