Freelancers - Bidding



How do I submit a bid?

When you find a project you'd like to bid on, click its title from the list of your searched projects to go to its main page. On the project's Details page, read the description carefully. Just below the project details, you can place your bid. (1) Enter your bid amount, (2) enter the number of days for delivery, (3) describe your proposal, (4) list milestones or tasks and set a Milestone Payment® for each task, (5) choose an optional upgrade if you wish, and click Place Bid.


You need to complete your profile first before you can place a bid. You also need to have at least one of the required skills of the project to be able to bid. If you have not updated your profile or skills yet, the Complete Your Profile form will appear on the project page and assist you in the update. To know more, click here


If the project is from a Californian resident, you will be required to create an account in Escrow.com to be able to bid. You will be directed to the Escrow Signup page as soon as you click Place Bid.


Before placing your first bid, we recommend reading this article: 10 Tips for Writing an Effective Bid

See also:

Is there a fee for bidding?

No. You can bid for free regardless of your membership level.


However, you only have a specific number of bids each month (bid limit), which you can use to bid for work on Freelancer. Your bid limit depends on your current membership plan. You can view your bid limit at the lower right side of your Dashboard page.

Why can't I bid on a project?

You may be unable to bid on a project for the following reasons:

  • You have no skills related to the project.

  • You have used up your total number of bids.

  • You need to complete your profile (add a profile picture, profile summary, and professional headline).

  • You have not signed up to Escrow.com. This is applicable if you are bidding on a project posted by a Californian client.


If none of the reasons above apply, please take note of the project's title or ID and contact our Support team. Just click the Live Support button at the bottom of this page.

Can I modify a bid that is already submitted?

Yes, you may edit your bid on any active project. To edit a bid, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your Freelancer.com account.

  2. Click My Projects and click View All.

  3. Select the Freelancer view. 

  4. Select Active Bids.

  5. Click the Action drop-down menu for the project and select Edit Bid.

 
Alternatively, you can go to the project's Proposals page, locate your bid, and click Edit on your bid. To know more, click here.


Related topics:

How do I modify my bid on a project I already accepted?
Will I be notified about the status of the change bid request?
Will my client be notified about the request to modify my bid?
How are the fees adjusted after the bid modification?

Can I modify my bid on a project I already accepted?

After a project is accepted, you may only send a request to change your bid amount and the project duration to your client.

Once a request is sent, your client will have to approve it for the changes to be applied.

Related topics:

How do I modify my bid on a project I already accepted?
Will I be notified about the status of the change bid request?
Will my client be notified about the request to modify my bid?
How are the fees adjusted after the bid modification?

How do I modify my bid on a project I already accepted?

To modify your bid for an accepted project, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your Freelancer.com account.

  2. Click My Projects and click View All.

  3. Click the project's title to go to its main page.

  4. From the Proposals tab, click Request Edit in your bid card.

  5. Indicate your new bid amount and/or the number of days for project completion.

  6. Click Submit Request.


Your client will be notified of your request, and they can accept or reject it. To know more, click here.


Related topics:

Will I be notified about the status of the change bid request?
Will my client be notified about the request to modify my bid?
How are the fees adjusted after the bid modification?

Will my client be notified about the request to modify my bid?

Notifications in the form of Newsfeed updates and emails will be posted throughout the bid modification process in order to maintain good communication between the client and freelancer.

Your client will be notified on the following scenarios:

  • After submitting the request form, your client will receive the notification to either approve or decline the new bid.

  • If additional fees are to be charged, your client will be notified about the breakdown.

  • Upon acceptance of the request, the client will be notified with the confirmation of the change.

 
Related topics:

Will I be notified about the status of the change bid request?
How are the fees adjusted after the bid modification?

Will I be notified about the status of the change bid request?

You will receive a Newsfeed update and email whether your client accepts or rejects the bid change request.

 
Related topics:

Will my client be notified about the request to modify my bid?
How are the fees adjusted after the bid modification?

How are the fees adjusted after bid modification?

If the new amount proposed is greater than the original bid amount, both the freelancer and employer will be charged additional project fees depending on their membership type.

If the new amount is less than the original bid, the project fees will remain unchanged.

 
You can check the Fees & Charges page for reference.


Related topics:

How do I modify my bid on a project I already accepted?
Will I be notified about the status of the change bid request?
Will my employer be notified about the request to modify my bid?

What are Highlighted Bids?

Highlighted Bids is an option for freelancers to feature their bids, highlight it and make it stand out from all the other bids. It incurs a one-time fee of $1.00 USD.


To highlight your bid, tick the Highlight option under the Optional Upgrades section when submitting your bid. You need to have available funds on your account to cover the Highlight upgrade fee.

What is my bid limit?

Your bid limit is the number of bids you can use each month to bid for work on Freelancer.com. Your exact bid limit depends on your membership type:

  • Free Members get 6 bids per month.

  • Intro Members get 15 bids per month.

  • Basic Members get 50 bids per month.

  • Plus Members get 100 bids per month.

  • Professional Members get 300 bids per month.

  • Premier Members get 1500 bids per month.


Additionally, your bids are replenished periodically according to your membership.

How often are my bids replenished?

On Freelancer.com, your bids are returned to you periodically. This means that as you use your bids, you will be returned a bid at a set interval according to your membership plan.

  • Free members earn a total of 8 bids in the span of 1 month at a set interval of 1 bid every 90 hrs.

  • Intro members earn a total of 15 bids in the span of 1 month at a set interval of 1 bid every 50 hrs.

  • Basic members earn a total of 50 bids in the span of 1 month at a set interval of 1 bid every 14.5 hrs.

  • Plus members earn a total of 100 bids in the span of 1 month at a set interval of 1 bid every 7.5 hrs.

  • Professional members earn a total of 300 bids in the span of 1 month at a set interval of 1 bid every 2.5 hrs.

  • Premier members earn a total of 1500 bids in the span of 1 month at a set interval of 1 bid every 30 mins.

 

How do I deliver a project?

You may deliver a project by any method agreed upon by you and the client (as long as it is done within the site). You can upload and submit work files through the Files tab of your project's page or your chat/messages. To know more, click here.


We recommend using our Milestone Payment® System to ensure payment on delivery of the finished project.

How do I bookmark projects?

To bookmark a project, go the Details tab of your project first. Click the Bookmark Project button located below the client's details and your bid summary.


Project bookmarking is available to all users on a paid membership -  Intro, Basic, Plus, Professional, and Premier membership plans. If you are currently under Free Membership, upgrade now!

Why am I unable to bookmark projects?

Project bookmarking is only available to users on a paid membership plan. If you are currently a Free Member, upgrade here now!

How do I view my bookmarked projects?

To view your bookmarks, click Browse from the main menu and select Bookmarks

click here to search the FAQ...