Canceling a project

1.  Go to your project’s page.

     For Fixed-price projects, click End Project on the right side of the Management tab.

     For Hourly projects, click End Billing beside your freelancer’s thumbnail image

2.  Choose My requirements have changed and I no longer require this work to be done to cancel the project. Selecting The freelancer is unable to complete my project will mark the project as Incomplete instead.

3.  Click Submit.

 

Projects with pending Milestone Payments cannot be canceled. The payments have to be either released by you or be canceled by the freelancer.

 

Here’s what happens when a project is canceled:

  • You will still be able to access the project, bids, messages, and attached files.

  • You will be unable to complete the project with the same freelancer.

  • The messaging will be disabled.

  • You may still award the project to the same freelancer or to any of the existing bidders.

 

Project fees for projects cancelled (instead of deleted) within seven (7) days after the freelancer accepts the project will be automatically refunded in full.

Was this article helpful?