Profile image of toml33
@toml33
Member since June 24, 2018
0 Recommendations

toml33

Online Offline
My writing ‘journey’ may be a little different to some. Dropping out of school aged 16, I’ve spent the past 25 years in London, supporting people managing poor mental health, disabilities, substance misuse, HIV, refugee status and homelessness. Alongside this, I’ve lived on Indian ashrams, travelled throughout Ghana, South Africa and India, and dealt with the rich and famous in a Harley Street clinic. Needing change, new experiences and fresh perspectives, I completed a History degree with the University of London in 2018. This fired my enthusiasm for writing and developed my abilities to research, edit and proofread. I graduated with a 1st class BA (Hons) degree. I now deliver original, clear and persuasive writing that you and your customers will find engaging and memorable. My wide range of experience means I can tackle many topics, while my personal interests - that include food, Eastern spirituality, electronic music and niche perfumery - expands this further.
$25 USD/hr
2 reviews
3.2
  • 100%Jobs Completed
  • 100%On Budget
  • 100%On Time
  • 100%Repeat Hire Rate

Portfolio

Recent Reviews

  • image of PhilsResearch Project for Tom L. €170.00 EUR

    “Great work as usual”

  • image of PhilsResearch Do you know about meditation? Help write a course about it! €170.50 EUR

    “Tom's research and writing are of the highest quality. He was responsive to feedback, but required very little input. His level of expertise in the topic was obvious and his writing is engaging yet concise. I would not hesitate to recommend Tom for research and writing projects and would very gladly work with him again.”

Experience

Content Writing, Editing, Proofreading

Sep 2017

Freelance content writing, editing and proofreading services

Reception/Administration/Front of House

Apr 2015 - Sep 2017 (2 years)

Front of house, reception and administration support for a busy set of clinics on London's Harley Street. First point of contact with all patients. Coordination of eight (separate but simultaneous) clinics, diary management, processing of medical results and building security. Worked to support my studies.

Casework Advisor

Dec 2007 - Jan 2014 (6 years)

Legal advice, casework and advocacy in Welfare Benefits, Housing/homelessness, Employment and Immigration and tribunal representation. My experience of communicating with a wide range of clients, government departments and medical professionals - often in writing - gives me an ability to adapt my style to individual needs

Assisted Information Officer (volunteer)

Apr 2004 - Feb 2008 (3 years)

Provision of advice, information and emotional support on HIV and sexual health related issues via THTdirect telephone helpline

Senior Day Centre Officer

Apr 2001 - Aug 2008 (7 years)

Educational, therapeutic, and emotional support to adults living with a wide range of physical and learning difficulties

Education

History

2015 - 2018 (3 years)

Publications

Loneliness

[login to view URL]

Certifications

  • Preferred Freelancer Program SLA
    87%
  • UK English 1
    82%
  • US English Level 1
    82%

Verifications

  • Facebook Connected
  • Preferred Freelancer
  • Payment Verified
  • Phone Verified
  • Identity Verified
  • Email Verified

My Top Skills

Browse Similar Freelancers